The World Health Organization (WHO) officially declared China a malaria-free country. After registering zero indigenous malaria cases for over three consecutive years, China is now the 40th country or territory to receive the certification, following El Salvador in 2021, Argentina and Algeria in 2019, Paraguay and Uzbekistan in 2018, and Sri Lanka in 2016.